Finding Water- The Art of Perseverance

Week three

Reading! Journaling! Walking! and working through week three of Finding Water- The Art of Perseverance of Julia Cameron.

Week three is all about Uncovering a Sense of Support, and as I work through this chapter it only highlights the lack of support that I have in so many areas of my life. I often think that is what makes me feel so tired and exhausted at times. I look at other mothers with grown teenage children and see them enjoying their freedom to go out in the world and do the things they want to do. I see myself tired up, stuck in this same place trying to construct a life around my son who has a disability. I often feel most people around me are oblivious to my circumstances. Anyway, a sense of support is certainly an area I need to work on now and for the future.

Supports are not always available to us, and when we need it. Another way we can gain support is to read the biography or autobiography that details the deceased writers (artists) life. We can often find comfort from learning about their journey and understanding their struggles. Julia suggests choosing one of them as a mentor, having some quiet time and listening to them for guidance. I must confess this is still on my to do list. I am still in the process of deciding about which five writers I will read about.

Another way to gain support is a great journaling exercise of writing yourself an encouraging letter and highlighting all the things you have done well.

Finally, time to take action. Julia states a well known saying, ” most of us accomplish too little because we are expecting to accomplish too much.” She suggests focussing on daily manageable action steps, and committing to that every day, even on the days you don’t feel like it. When it comes to writing she suggests committing to writing three pages every day.

Week three was very challenging for me, and I feel that I am still working through it. It is one of those chapters that I feel I need longer to work on. I will be spending two weeks on this chapter and trying to implement some of her suggestions.

Savvy Learning Resources

Today I am watching a great online class on Creative Live,
called Starving to Sucess: How To Become A Full-time Writer by Jeff Goins. I love watching Creative Live, I can watch the class for free when it is live. It is an awesome learning site, and provides lots of opportunities to learn new things.

Wishing you a wonderful day!

FRAN DISHON

.

Leave a Reply

