Journaling Through Books For Reflective Self Discovery ~Finding Water- week two

week two fr

Reading! Journaling! Walking! and working through week two of Finding Water- The Art of Perseverance of Julia Cameron.

Week two of Finding Water, was about uncovering a sense of reality. Some of my take aways was the importance of being in the now. This is coming up a lot in my reading at the moment. Cherishing the moment and taking small steps each day to progress.

One of the exercises recommended in the book is to take time each day to complete this statement ten times.

I cherish……………………………………………………………………………………………………………

for example:
I cherish sunshine beaming through the window onto the kitchen table where I sit, bringing warmth to me on this cold winter’s day.

I cherish this kiwi fruit, its colour and pattern, its fresh taste, and smell. It adds zing to my lunch.

It is about cherishing those things right in your life right at this moment that are worth noticing and appreciating. I know that sometimes it is easy for me to get caught up in all the drama and problems in life. Then life seems stressful and overwhelming, and all the good stuff isn’t even on my radar. This why doing and exercise like I cherish, or ten blessings of the week bring all that good stuff back to the front of my mind and refocus my day. It brings that sense of optimism back into life.

The second exercise that I thought that was good is that we need to take some action to work towards the little bit of progress each day. We need to keep working on our skills and talents. No matter what is going on in our life we need to take some small step towards doing that thing we want to do. I neglected my blogs this year. At the beginning of the year, I intended to work on them, improve them, and to practice my writing. Nothing happened, because nothing was going to be good enough, or I didn’t have big chunks of time to spend on writing posts, I had nothing interesting to say. So for me working on them each day, even though I haven’t posted each day, I feel like I am bringing them back to life.

So decide what it is you want to do, and working on. Then write down 5 small actions you can take to move forward. Often taking small actions adds up, this leads to a sense of real progress and optimism. I love the practicality of these types of journaling exercise.

1. Brainstorm some ideas and collect them in one place.
2. Attempt to write a potential blog post each day in Grammarly. The more writing I do the better I will become at it.
3. Create some images for my blog posts.
4. Edit my potential posts that I think could work as real posts on my blog and post them.
5. Learn more about blogging by listening to Pro Blogger podcast once a week.

 

This week I did one long and also a couple of short 20minute walks. I missed one day of my morning pages exercise, and my artist date was decorating a shabby folder with collage into something I love and makes me smile.

I find it hard to focus on all the ideas and exercises I tend to just pick a couple of things out that I feel would be really helpful and work on them.

If you want to know more about my Journaling Adventure with this book check at my post about week one.

If you have worked through Julia Cameron’s books Artist’s Way or her other books like Finding Water, what were some really useful exercises that you continue to use? Please share in the comments.

Wishing you a wonderful Day!

FRAN DISHON

 

Leave a Reply

