Word of the Year – Completion

fullsizeoutput_130c

I like the idea of choosing a word as an area to focus and set the intention of what I want more of in my life during 2017 . The word of the year for 2017 is completion.

I let myself down all the time, by starting new things which is something I love to do, but only completing a small percentage of the projects or changes that I start. Yes, I suck at finishing stuff! There are many courses started but not completed, for instance, I was doing a creativity online course last year, got three-quarters of the way through it and stopped. Why, distractions in life, another new thing to learn, oh yeah and it got hard. Yes, I am very good at starting new things, and then setting them aside, when life distracts me, or it gets too hard, or I have simply moved on to a new shiny project. So in terms of completion this year I will be focusing on completing and finishing what I start.

The definition of the word according to the Marriam- Webster Dictionary: “the act or process of completing or finishing something: the state of being complete or finished “- https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/completion

So how do I plan to use my word of the year? Firstly I have set myself a huge completion challenge that will run over the whole year. It is ok there has been a fun component added to it. I will post a photo a day on Instagram using my iPhone. Now this project is about challenging myself to improve my photography skills and it is also about following through with a project for 365 days until completion. Although this project looks easy it will be a big challenge for me. Secondly, when I start a project I will also be setting the intention of completing it, this means having an action plan, not taking on too many projects, and acknowledging that some days I will need to push myself through the hard stuff to get things done. It also means setting time in my calendar for projects and goals.

I will be checking in with myself on the first Monday of the month, by having some planning and reflecting time. I will review what I have accomplished and what needs to be adjusted or prioritized to complete my projects and move towards achieving my amazing goals.

Completion is a big word for me, I know this word will challenge me again and again through the year. I know if I can focus on it, start completing and finishing what I start I will be able to overcome one of my weakest areas and will set myself up to moving closer to achieving the goals I have set myself for the year, and years to come.

May 2017 be a year of completion.

Do you have a word of the year? please share in the comments

Wishing you all a wonderful day!FRAN DISHON

Leave a Reply

