What opportunities am I choosing?

Devil 2

Yesterday I had the privilege to help out on the Mother’s Day Stall at my son’s school. I gave my energy and time, and generously the children showed me their delight and enthusiasm. It made me think when I wake up in the morning do I see the opportunities that the day has for me, and when I choose those opportunities do I choose opportunities that add value to peoples lives, my family, my community or even the planet?

 

When I reflect upon my week their have been days when I was selfish, and lazy, and their have been days when I have been generous with my time, energy and knowledge. The realisation for me is that it has been haphazard and random. I am not waking up in the morning thinking about this question. I am not planning my daily, weekly planner thinking about this question. I think it is important, important enough to be asking the question in my journal each day? What opportunities do I choose today, and if I say yes to an opportunity will it add value to peoples lives, my family, my community or even the world?  Or if I say yes to this opportunity am I being selfish, lazy or simply entertained?

 

Opportunities

I am curious to try this in my journal and to see if it influences who I show up as each day, and what I do each day. I want to be more intentional about how I spend my time and what I say yes too. To be honest too many times I feel annoyed with myself for wasting my time on watching too much television, or flicking aimlessly through the internet. Yesterday reminded me I want some things to change and how I want them to change.

 

The biggest question will be for me,  when I look back in 4 weeks time will I have asked the question each day and did I make that change I wanted to make? Living a beautiful life is not living an easy life, it is about doing what it takes to live a more purposeful and meaningful life on a daily basis.

 

A life without devils would be just awful, which is why today I continued my financial support for the devils by continuing to adopt a devil via the Tasmanian Devil Endangered Programme by Zoo’s Victoria. Go Devils!

 

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

FRAN DISHON

 

Leave a Reply

