Finding an hour a week for an Artist’s date can be challenging. Do you take yourself out on regular artist’s dates, why or why not?

camera walk

The Artist’s Date is an idea from Julia Cameron, a date with yourself, an hour a week where you can do anything you want, as long as it’s fun and not related to work. It is your time, no companions allowed, just you. Whether or not you are an artist or not, we all have a creative side to us, that gets depleted and needs re-filling.

 

 

This week I made one of my adventure walks my artist’s date. This time I took my camera for a walk with me. It was about playing with my camera and seeing what images I could create. The funny thing was some one stop to ask me if I was a photographer. I thought I must have looked serious and in control when taking my photo’s.

 

 

I found a new path to follow and discover the nature of Autumn and suburban parkscape. I noticed an empty playground and I wonder where were all the children playing these days. I discovered places to sit and rest. I enjoyed being out in nature and listening to the sound of birds. I found a path to walk along and capture images of the suburban parkscape. It was a fun learning and creative experience.

 

 

It was a fun learning and creative experience which had been planed. I had this block of time scheduled in my calendar for Friday.  However, it almost did not happen, there were so many other things I could have done, more washing, a newsletter, weeding the garden, calling a friend. I stopped myself and said this hour for myself is going to happen, one hour of play to exercise and play with my camera. Finding an hour, a week for an Artist’s date can be challenging. All those to do’s like to get in the way.  Yet this hour a week leaves me feeling refreshed and inspired. It makes me feel alive and puts a bit of spark back into my week.

 

 

What’s your favorite artist’s date activity to spark your creativity?  Do you take yourself out on regular dates, why or why not?  Please leave a comment would love to know your thoughts.

 

 

Wishing you all a wonderful day?

Leave a Reply

