Journaling provides inspiration from within, my Artist’s dates provide inspiration from around me.

display home

With journaling I find inspiration from within, with my Artist’s Date I find inspiration around me.

 

 

The Artist Date is a once-weekly, festive, solo expedition to explore something that interests you. The Artist Date need not be overtly “artistic”– think mischief more than mastery. Artist Dates fire up the imagination. They spark whimsy. They encourage play.” ~Julia Cameron

 

 

I am a week behind with this blog post, however I want to continue to record my outings. My most recent Artist’s Date was to a group of display homes. I just love looking at the way these homes are decorated, let say the interior design aspect of these homes. I wanted to notice what I liked and what I didn’t like. I was looking  at the colours I was drawn to, and how they made me feel. To the furniture and how it was set out. I was noticing how much I love open space, and a house that allows lots of light into it. One of the signs I read on the way in was to “Make it your own”, I think that was what I was doing taking ideas and transferring them to my own housing situation. Things like I think my linen for the beds needs freshening up and modernizing. I noticed that indoor plants make me feel good.  Also how adding big beautiful pictures around the house could make a difference. Noticing trends, it appears TV’s are mounted on walls, not like mine free standing with a multitude of cords coming out from them. Dreamscaping ideas like, what a wonderful idea it would be to get huge sliding doors that open up bringing the inside to the outside. I say dreaming because that would be a huge home project. It was one enjoyable frugal artist date, costing me nothing, and allowing me to create lots of inspirational ideas for my own home.

 

 

Today I will be  finding time to go out and play on this weeks Artist Date.

 

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

 

FRAN DISHON
Leave a Reply

