Exploring Week Ten, Of Walking In This World, Through The Journal Writing Process!

AskBelieve be opento Receive

Week ten in Walking In This World by Julia Cameron was about focusing our attention on our friendships and creative collaborations. Basically this was about going out and finding those people who support us. Friends that will support us when we are struggling and give us encouragement, and friends who will cheer us on when we are doing well, and continue to support us. We also need the sort of support that will help us grow, feedback that helps us learn. It is important to have those trusted people in our lives, who can give us the constructive feedback that we need, and yet we know they fully support us. These will also be the same people who cheer us on, and celebrate our wins. It is not just our friends; they can also be the people that we collaborate with in our working environments and learning environments.

A part of the chapter that caught my attention the most was The Good Of Getting Better, as Julia Cameron states, “We are interested in expressing ourselves more and more accurately, more and more beautifully. This brings us squarely to the issue of craft, to our need for accurate assessment by others and ourselves.” I love this, it made me think of Toastmasters and how everything gets evaluated. The whole idea is that we can help cheer each person on by recognizing their strengths, and identifying areas for improvement. I always look forward to evaluations about my speeches or the roles I have performed. I look forward to the insights of the evaluator and the gems they provide me with that I can use next time if I choose, to improve my work. Julia also talks about how finding a good teacher or mentor can make a huge difference to improving our work. Finding a good teacher requires attention and consideration.  Not all teachers and curriculums are equal, we need to look carefully.  As Julia Cameron tells us, “ Authentic growth, however is the goal, and that will not occur if we enrol ourselves in classes and curriculums that are themselves stagnant, stifling, or simply inadequate and ill advised.”  We need to be open to learning, but we also need to be wise to the ways we learn.  We need to ask for that guidance, believe that guidance is available to us, and be open to receiving guidance so we may learn. Julia Cameron states” When we ask to be led, we are led. When we ask to be guided, we are guided. When we ask to be taught we are taught.’’ I think that the universe is always trying to support us, it is up to us to be open to that support.

Synchronicity this week showed up as a free course from Coursera, Writing for Young Readers, in the previous chapter I was thinking I really need to do a course to improve my writing. Then it appeared, so I thought yes I must try it. It seems a good course for me, I will learn new skills and be able to improve my writing. I am open to learning. Personally I think I need to start were I am at. I am a beginner; I have limited funds to invest in learning to write. This course may be free, however it looks like it has valuable content. I am also looking for community course in my area. At this stage I have not found anything on days that suit me. However I am open to something coming my way. Where as for my nursing, which is also my art, I pay good money for good courses, new and up to date knowledge, and motivating teaches. I recognise this is a valuable investment.

This week I currently worked on my daily, To Da List, listing all the things that I had actually done over the day, and recognizing my daily achievements.

It is currently school holidays and the boys are getting in the way of my routines, so I haven’t been on my walking adventures or my Artist’s Date. I have managed to do my journaling (Morning Pages) six out of seven days this week.  I am being kind to myself it is school holidays and that is ok. I am enjoying doing things with the boys, relaxing and rejuvenating.

Do you have a book that you could engage with, journal about and even apply parts to your own everyday life?

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

FRAN DISHON

Leave a Reply

