Exploring Week Seven, Of Walking In This World, Through The Journal Writing Process!

IMG_1913

It has been a cold week here in Melbourne, and I like nothing more than wearing my coats and keeping warm. The picture above is of the beach I visited on the long weekend. It just felt so good walking along the beach listen to the waves roll in and out. Lovely how a walk on the beach can lift the spirits.

 

I am now up to week seven of Walking In This World by Julia Cameron. This week’s chapter is all about discovering a sense of momentum.

 

Start something – finish something. Yes get stuff done! Momentum and overcoming procrastination was tackled by taking on the little stuff. So one of the exercises was to create a list of easy to do things that could be done right away. So I got started decluttering magazines, putting my current Toastmasters manuals and documents in a folder, organizing my Winter wardrobe and putting all the summer stuff away, sorting out my clothes and attending to my volunteer reports. Hmmm I could have done more here and are thinking I could do five things each week. This is something I could do at the start of the week on Mondays.  List five things that are easy to do and that you can do right now?

 

I also enjoyed the collaging exercise about myself. It is amazing how pictures quickly chosen and placed on a page can say so much. It was supposed to be my leading character in my imaginary world filled with my beloved objects and interests. I think my journal and pen are beloved objects. They support me through my days.  There were lots of pictures of journaling in different places, and next to them pictures of ideas and projects. My ideal self would love to be out and about with pen and paper jotting things down.  Maybe that is the focus of my next project journaling in different places, sounds like fun.

 

Part of the chapter was about appreciating and being grateful for everything we already have.” There seems to be an unwritten spiritual law that if we want our good to increase, we must focus on appreciating and husbanding the good that we already experience.” Julia Cameron.  She suggests we can do this by writing gratitude lists. Another way is to take care of the things we already have.  I often include some journaling about gratitude in my journal each day. It is easy to finish my journaling practice with a gratitude list or better still ten blessings of the day at the end of each day. There is always something to be grateful for, and so much abundance to appreciate in my life right now.

 

This week my Artist’s Date was sorting out my winter wardrobe; I boxed away my summer clothes in a box that I collaged with pretty pictures. I discarded some items that were ratty or I just didn’t like. I checked out all my scarves, and my coats and thought how I will enjoy wearing them this winter. It was fun exercise to do. Whilst the clothes I wear are an expression of which I am, and how I am feeling.

 

Week seven focused on starting something and finishing it, it was all about getting that momentum happening. During week six I introduced two project days.  Unfortunately project days where challenged by a school curriculum day and  a volunteer commitment that I forgot I had. I did manage to have at least one project day where I spent the whole day working on my projects. It was a very productive day, and I was happy with the result. I am hoping next week I will get in two project days. I certainly noticed how satisfying it was to get so much done in a day, I think it was because I was focused and taking action.

 

This book is giving me lots of prompts to journal on and to dig deep into my life. I am enjoying and feeling challenged by the process.

Journal prompt: What are five things I can start and complete this week?

 

Do you have a book that you could engage with, journal about and even apply parts to your own everyday life?

Wishing you all a wonderful day!

FRAN DISHON

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

