Getting Deep About The Yucky Stuff

Writing about the yucky stuff

At the moment I am feeling very tight and tense about something. I have been doing a lot of journaling on the subject. Yet it all seemed so superficial and I have been just going around in circles with it. I was feeling stuck and unfulfilled.  I felt I was holding back, not saying what the real issues were. Sometimes the practice of journal writing can be tough, and seriously yucky. Today was one of those days, and I had to write about the thoughts and feelings that I didn’t what to explore. You see my imperfections are many, including resentment. My realization was that I been feeling resentful for putting in lots of work and effort into a certain activity. Whilst the outcome of all my work was to see others reap the benefits and achieve their goals, whilst I fell further behind in my goals. However my journaling practice is able to help me voice my feelings and reframe my situation.  Now I know what the problem is I can explore the questions of how I can get more out of it, and also how can I make it more fulfilling? Another question was do I need to walk away from it? What I discovered was I want to stick with it, with the understanding that it does require me to put in a lot of hard work. However I want to find a way to get more out of it. So now I can move forward and discover ways to get more rewarding benefits from this particular work. I think in order to live deeper I have to deal with the yucky bits in my life. So sometimes in order to go deeper I need to journal about the things I don’t want to write about. It can be confronting whilst it can also be a catalyst to getting past the stuckness in life and living life more deeply.

Recently I was reading the book Journalation by Sandy Grason, this is a wonderful journaling resource for delving deep with your journaling practice. It is also where I discovered the Prompt. What don’t I want to write about today? I recommend trying this prompt it can assist with revealing some meaningful discoveries.

Prompt: What don’t I want to write about today?

What don't I want to write  about today

What journal prompts do you use  to write deeper?

Please leave a comment I would love to know your thoughts about the question.
Wishing you all a wonderful day!
FRAN DISHON
Leave a Reply

